The Next Generation

I have a unique position at my church. I have the privilege of leading worship and giving creative direction to the contemporary worship service as well as the high school student ministry. This puts me in a role where I’m working with leaders at many different levels in their journey. I feel this is my biggest calling: investing in the next generation. I feel like God has given me much training and gifting, so I feel responsible to hand off all I have to others. I’ve joked often about the student ministry band being the “minor leagues” and the contemporary service being the coveted “pros”. I joke, but its true… the high school worship leaders are at such a raw and untrained point in their journeys. They need coaching and training and someday are gonna be in a position to pass on what they have learned.

I stood in the back of the youth center tonight and watched as two of our students led their peers in worship to the Lord. Were they at the top of their game? No. But, they were used in a mighty way tonight. And, I know that they are gonna grow through tonight’s experience and the nights to come. I am grateful to be a part of that.

To worship pastors: Invest in the student ministry worship bands and other leaders that are rough around the edges. They are the future of the church. Help them along their journey.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

